top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureA Bibliophile Confesses

Review: The Villain by L.J. Shen



To marry or not to marry Boston’s favorite villain?

The Villain, an all-new dark and decadent love story from USA Today and #1 Amazon bestselling author L.J. Shen is available now!

Cruel. Coldblooded. Hades in a Brioni suit.

Cillian Fitzpatrick has been dubbed every wicked thing on planet earth.

To the media, he is The Villain.

To me, he is the man who (reluctantly) saved my life.

Now I need him to do me another, small solid.

Bail me out of the mess my husband got me into.

What’s a hundred grand to one of the wealthiest men in America, anyway?

Only Cillian doesn’t hand out free favors.

The price for the money, it turns out, is my freedom.

Now I’m the eldest Fitzpatrick brother’s little toy.

To play, to mold, to break.

Too bad Cillian forgot one, tiny detail.

Persephone wasn’t only the goddess of spring; she was also the queen of death.

He thinks I’ll buckle under the weight of his mind games.

He is about to find out the most lethal poison is also the sweetest.

Download your copy today or read FREE in Kindle Unlimited!

Amazon Worldwide: http://mybook.to/TheVillain

Amazon Paperback: https://amzn.to/3757c81

Add The Villain to Goodreads: https://bit.ly/LJVillianGR

For more information, join L.J. Shen’s reader group: http://bit.ly/2lTnonw

Stay up to date on all release news.

Follow L.J. Shen on Instagram: https://bit.ly/LJShenIG

Review:

To say I was excited about this story would be an understatement of epic proportions. I have been waiting for The Villain the minute I was finished with The Hunter.

Wait, that’s a lie actually. I’ve been waiting for this book the moment I was introduced to Cillian Fitzpatrick. I knew I wanted to know what was going on in his devious mind, and I wanted someone to bring him to his knees. Now who would be the one to do that? There was a virtual war going on in the reader groups about which Penrose sister he was going to end up with. I know many people were devastated when he didn’t end up with the one of his choice, and that is understandable. I didn’t have a particular preference, to be honest. I trusted the author’s opinion and I knew Leigh would take the story where she wanted to.

She gave him the best person for him. I won’t tell you who, because that isn’t even important. Usually its the female characters that drive the story for me, and yes the heroine was kind and smart and amazing like most book babes are. But for me, you know who took the cake? It was Cillian.

He was everything I wanted to be and more. He was conflicted, in pain, kind, but at the same time an asshole of epic proportions. The story was what kept me reading. The characters were not caricatures, they were like actual people. The Villain furthered my interest in Sam Brennan, and I think I will die if I don’t get his story soon. I loved the family dynamic between the Fitzpatricks. I loved the relationship between Cillian and his lady love, they were equal partners. One thing that I would have changed would have been the sex scenes. I felt like there could have been more, heheh. But maybe I’m just a horn dog, lmao. I really enjoy Leigh’s books, I mean how can I not? She writes hot guys and girls who love each other and orgasm all the time, lol. But I didn’t read The Villain for the hot guy and girl, I read it for the story and it stuck to me for the story.

This book deserves five stars and more!!! Now give me that next book...

About L.J. Shen

L.J. Shen is a USA Today, Washington Post and Amazon #1 best-selling author of contemporary, New Adult and YA romance. Her books have been sold to twenty different countries.

She lives in California with her husband, son, cat and eccentric fashion choices, and enjoys good wine, bad reality TV shows and catching sun rays with her lazy cat.

Connect with L.J. Shen

Stay up to date with L.J. Shen by signing up for her mailing list:

11 views0 comments
bottom of page